Skip to main content
  • Students Recognized at Academic Honors Event

April 22, 2024

Midway University celebrated the exemplary achievements of its students at the annual Joy Edwards Hembree Academic Honors Event held on Friday, April 12. The event, named in honor of the late Joy Hembree, a distinguished member of the Midway University Board of Trustees, underscored the institution's commitment to fostering academic excellence, personal growth, and community service.

The event featured accolades for faculty, staff, and students, with special recognition given to those who exemplified Midway's core values and demonstrated exceptional dedication to their academic pursuits and extracurricular activities.

One of the highlights of the event was the presentation of the Professor of the Year award to Dr. Bobby Barrett, who was praised for his unwavering commitment to student success and innovative teaching methods.

In addition to honoring outstanding faculty, we also recognize the invaluable contributions of our staff. This year, we're proud to announce Mr. Pete Spencer, a member of our Campus Security team, as our Staff Member of the Year. Mr. Spencer goes above and beyond to make our university a place where everyone feels welcome and safe, and has a genuine concern for our students' well-being.

Additionally, students across various academic programs were honored for their outstanding achievements. Notable awardees included:

Outstanding Biology Student Award: Dylan Abrams

Outstanding Biology Research Student Award: Jacqueline Raque

Outstanding Criminal Justice Student Award: Emily Taylor

Outstanding Math Student Award: Elisma Stoltz

Outstanding Psychology Student Award: Jordan Schauer

Outstanding Teacher Education Student Award: Kalyn Tackett

Outstanding Master of Education Student Award: Andrew Stock

Outstanding English Student Award: Judson Tabor

Associate Degree in Nursing Award for Professional Excellence Student Award: Sophia Narramore

Prelicensure Bachelor of Science in Nursing Award for Professional Excellence Student Award: Madison Clayton

Outstanding Healthcare Administration Student Award: Sepricia Hall

Outstanding Equine Health & Rehabilitation Student Award: Alex Slentz

Outstanding Equine Science Student Award: Dylan Abrams

Outstanding Equine Business and Sales Student Award: Delaney Lindquist

Outstanding Accounting Student Award: Meghan Adams

Outstanding Business Student Award: Brookelyn Hopkins

Top Marketing Student Award: Jenna Young

Outstanding Sport Management Student Award: Bradley Blanchard

The ceremony also recognized students who had been inducted into prestigious academic honor societies such as Alpha Lambda Delta, Beta Beta Beta, and Gamma Beta Phi, underscoring their commitment to scholarly attainment and service. Among these honored students were:

Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Cord Recipients:

  • Dylan Abrams
  • Meghan Adams
  • Sadie Godbey
  • Kyra McCall

Beta Beta Beta Honor Cord Recipients:

  • Dylan Abrams
  • Isabella McKinney
  • Jaqueline Raque
  • Katherine Rodriguez Ortiz

Gamma Beta Phi Honor Cord Recipients:

  • Haley Case 
  • Daniel Cogo 
  • Emily Dillender 
  • Leah Hibbitts
  • Judson Tabor 

View Honor's Night Photo Album