Skip to main content
  • Spotlight Awards

Spotlight Awards
Thursday, May 25, 2023

Join us on Thursday, May 25, 2023 for Midway University’s 9th Spotlight Awards. The event will be held on campus in the Marshall Gymnasium inside McManis Student Center. The cocktail reception will begin at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner and awards at 7:00 p.m.

All proceeds from the dinner and awards ceremony will go to support ongoing academic programming and student scholarships at Midway University.

This year's theme will be "All Aboard" and our honorees will be James E. "Ted" Bassett III, receiving the Pinkerton Vision Award, and Linda L. Green, will receive the Midway University Legacy Award.

Register to Attend Spotlight Awards

Presenting Sponsor

community trust bank logo

all aboard spotlight awards

About the Awards Evening

The Spotlight Awards evening is designed to highlight those who have been leaders in representing women’s issues; have made an impact that benefits women in the state of Kentucky and beyond; and innovative women in their chosen field. In addition, the awards ceremony is a time for the University to bestow honors on someone who has directly impacted Midway University.

The evening begins with a cocktail hour at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner and award presentations for the Pinkerton Vision Award and the Midway University Legacy Award.

Buy Tickets for Spotlight Awards

The Pinkerton Vision Award

This award honors the legacy of Dr. L.L. Pinkerton, whose vision of the Kentucky Female Orphan School in 1847 established it as the first formal education for orphaned girls on the site that is now Midway University. Criteria for consideration of award recipients includes: a) an individual or group (male or female) who has had a direct impact on improving the lives of women, b) an individual who has served as an outstanding role model, or c) someone who has displayed great leadership, innovative thinking and influence in his/her chosen field. The recipient must be a Kentucky native, resident, or organization located in Kentucky. A committee of college representatives will select the award recipient from the pool of nominations received.

Ted Bassett

2023 Honoree - James E. "Ted" Bassett III

Legendary Keeneland Trustee Emeritus James E. "Ted" Bassett III will receive the Pinkerton Vision Award. Bassett, who served in Okinawa, has been synonymous with Keeneland for more than 50 years. After serving as Kentucky's Director of State Police, he began working for the Keeneland Association in 1968 and was Keeneland President from 1970-1986 before becoming Chairman of the Board. He also served as President of the Breeder's Cup from 1988 to 1996. In 2003, he was named a Keeneland Trustee and now is a Trustee Emeritus.

The Midway University Legacy Award

This award honors a person or persons that have impacted Midway University over a period of many years by giving time, service, support, and/or resources.

Linda L. Green

2023 Honoree - Linda L. Green

Midway University Board of Trustee member, Linda Green, will receive the Legacy Award. Green has been a Midway University Trustee since 1997. During her tenure she has served as Vice-President of the Board and Co-Chair of the Nominating Committee. She currently serves on the Executive Committee of the Board. She is co-owner/operator of Bel-Mar Farm in Lexington. She also has been an active member of the Kentucky Horse Park Foundation, the Lexington Woman's Club, and many other organizations.

About the Live Auction

Each year we assemble an exciting array of packages, experiences, and artwork to auction during the Spotlight Awards. All proceeds from the live auction support ongoing academic programming and student scholarships at Midway University.

About the Silent Auction

Two weeks prior to the event, a number of unique products and services will be offered in a silent auction. All funds raised from the silent auction will go towards student scholarships, ongoing campus improvements, and academic programs.

Register Now to Bid

Previous Spotlight Awards

Pinkerton Vision Award

2022 - Shannon Arvin

2021 – Barbara Bailey

2020 – Not Held Due to COVID

2019 – Ouita Michel

2018 – Dress for Success Lexington

2017 – Margie Samuels

2016 – Isabel Yates

2015 – Jean R. Hale

2014 – Rev. Dr. Nancy Jo Kemper

Midway University Legacy Award

2022 - Tracy Farmer

2021 – Donna Moore Campbell

2020 – Not Held Due to COVID

2019 – Lyle Wolf

2018 – Janet Green Hunter

2017 – The Parrish-Roach Family

2016 – The James C. & Ann Bowling Family

2015 – Libby Lloyd Jones

2014 – Mira Ball