Skip to main content
  • Midway University Celebrates Commencement 2023

Academic Honors Listed Below

May 22, 2023

At the May 13 Commencement Ceremony, Midway University conferred degrees on 356 students who completed their coursework over the last academic year; 223 of those individuals participated in the commencement ceremony held in the Graves Amphitheater on campus. This graduating class included individuals from 28 states, Puerto Rico, and 7 countries. During the ceremony, two awards were presented by the University – the President’s Award and the Midway Woman Award.

Cinelle Claassens (South Africa), Recipient of the President’s Award

Cinelle is a double major receiving both a Bachelor of Science in business administration and a Bachelor of Science in Equine Studies with significant service to Midway University and the community. During her time at Midway University, she has demonstrated academic excellence within the Equine Science program.

Outside of the classroom, Cinelle has been involved as the Vice President of Midway Horse Association. She has focused on developing organizational skills and passion for Midway’s equine program, she coordinated and planned successful events, including Equine Preview Days, Everything Equine, and fundraising events.

The President’s Award is the highest honor bestowed upon a Midway University graduate. This award is presented to a graduate who has demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, and service. The recipient of this award must have maintained at least a 3.75 grade point average.

Cinelle Claasens President's Award

Cassidy Schrecongost (Lexington, KY), Recipient of The Midway Woman Award

Cassidy is a double major receiving both a Bachelor of Science in Psychology and a Bachelor of Science in Sport Management. She has sought to be a positive role model in all facets of campus and community life. She has given presentations at three out-of-state sport management conferences as a Botkin Research student. Her research team was awarded best paper in their track at one conference, and she was part of the team that took home the Best Sports & Experiential Marketing Presentation Award at the Midwest Business Administration Association (MBAA) International Society of Marketing Conference

Outside the classroom, she has been named to both the River States Conference Scholar-Athlete and Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete teams for women’s soccer and track & field. She has also been a member of the Gamma Beta Phi Honor Society for the past year.

The Midway Woman Award is given to a graduating female undergraduate who demonstrates a profound sense of service to others and is a role model who exemplifies the core values of the University. Additionally, the recipient of the Midway Woman Award must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Cassidy Schrecongost Midway Woman Award

The complete list of graduates can be found in the Commencement program.

2023 Commencement Program


Graduates with academic honors are listed below in alphabetical order by their last name.

Laxmi Adihkari High Honors
Ann Marie Adler Cum Laude
Luisa Alejandra Agudelo Cum Laude
Alexa Arredondo-Razo Cum Laude
Emma  Jean Asmonday Cum Laude
Carol Ann Baker Honors
Natalie Grace Baker Honors
Candace Marie Barefoot Honors
Aaron Christopher Bays Honors
Arredondo-Razo Alexa Cum Laude
Asmondy Emma Jean Cum Laude
Baker Carol Ann Summa Cum Laude
Baker Natalie Grace Honors
Barefoot Candace Marie Cum Laude
Bays Aaron Christopher Honors
Baysinger Elijah Aden High Honors
Begley Alex McClain Summa Cum Laude
Belcher Autumn Dawn Cum Laude
Binetter Trinity Magna Cum Laude
Bost Amber Summa Cum Laude
Brumley Cody Ray Cum Laude
Carlson Lauren Magna Cum Laude
Carter Preston A.J. Magna Cum Laude
Caudill Jessica Michelle Cum Laude
Claassens Cinelle Summa Cum Laude
Clark Brandi Alexis Magna Cum Laude
Combs Jessica Renee Honors
Counts Spencer Summa Cum Laude
Daugherty Kassidy Lynn Magna Cum Laude
Dones Jennifer Cum Laude
Edlin Derek Thomas Cum Laude
Edwards McKenzie Paige High Honors
Fields Meshaila V. Cum Laude
Flinchum Tabitha A. Magna Cum Laude
Frimpong Esther Cum Laude
Gaddie Jarron Edward Cum Laude
Gayheart Tara Grace Cum Laude
Gunnell Amber Jane Summa Cum Laude
Gutman Emma Elizabeth Summa Cum Laude
Harmon Andrew Scott Cum Laude
Hight Lantana Cum Laude
Hill Emilie Ann Summa Cum Laude
Hundley William Matthew Honors
Ison Allyson Cum Laude
Johnson Michael Connor Summa Cum Laude
Jones Heather Summa Cum Laude
Justice Breanna Shaylene Cum Laude
Kjelstrom Jeremiah David Cum Laude
Klauer John High Honors
Kocis Jacob Paul Summa Cum Laude
Kranzler Kaela Renee Summa Cum Laude
Lane Darianna Magna Cum Laude
Lee Trista Ann Magna Cum Laude
Lee Sheena D. Summa Cum Laude
Lewis Taylor Summa Cum Laude
Livingston Lauren Nicole Magna Cum Laude
Logan Luke Anthony Cum Laude
Lovins Andrea Summa Cum Laude
Lucas Skyler Dewayne Cum Laude
Ludwig Madison Magna Cum Laude
Maddox Caitlyn Marie Summa Cum Laude
Marsh Colton Derrick Summa Cum Laude
Matz Madelyn Summa Cum Laude
McQueen Erin Taylor Cum Laude
Monnin Rebecca Anne Summa Cum Laude
Neely Erin Lynn Cum Laude
Netzel Kelly Honors
Osborne Leah W. Summa Cum Laude
Pantiere Aisha Nicole Summa Cum Laude
Parker Barri J. Summa Cum Laude
Parker Gracie Lynn Summa Cum Laude
Parker Logan Reed Magna Cum Laude
Parker Sydney Nicole Magna Cum Laude
Patrick Rachel Elizabeth Magna Cum Laude
Pennington Elizabeth Grigsby Summa Cum Laude
Petrey Taylor Cum Laude
Poste Carly Kathryn Cum Laude
Powell Dietra Jane Cum Laude
Richman Victoria Cum Laude
Rose Casey Lashae Honors
Rusnak Elizabeth Magna Cum Laude
Sauer Marissa Magna Cum Laude
Schrecongost Cassidy Cum Laude
Seamans Kristi Ann Summa Cum Laude
Searcy Cheyenne Honors
Shelton Carter Lynn Summa Cum Laude
Smith Jacob Ryan Cum Laude
Smith Zachary Ryan Magna Cum Laude
Sparrow Theresa Lee Cum Laude
Staats Laura Magna Cum Laude
Stefaniak Andrew Magna Cum Laude
Talbot David Lane Magna Cum Laude
Todd Alexandra Taylor Cum Laude
Urturi Ortiz Nahia Summa Cum Laude
Vorhaus Alex David Magna Cum Laude
Wallis Cameron David Cum Laude
West Kathryn Laurel Magna Cum Laude
Whittle Zackery David Magna Cum Laude