Skip to main content
  • Outstanding Students, Faculty Recognized During Honors Ceremony

April 19, 2022

The annual Joy Edwards Hembree Honors Program at Midway University was held April 14 to recognize students, faculty members, and campus organizations for their achievements in the classroom and extra-curricular activities.

“The annual Honors event is an important reminder of our purpose and a celebration of our Midway students’ academic and service achievements,” said Dr. Carrie Christensen, Interim Assistant Vice President, Academic Affairs, Midway University.

Award recipients:

  • Brian Weldon, Teacher of the Year
  • Emily Cammack, Biology Award
  • Kayla Kaugherty, Biology Research Award
  • Mackenzie Martin, Outstanding Criminal Justice Student Award
  • Daniel Caldwell, Math Program Award
  • Emily Colley, Outstanding Psychology Student Award
  • Rachel Cooper, Outstanding Teacher Education Student Award
  • Timothy (Scott) Daniels, Outstanding Master of Education Award
  • Alex Vorhaus, Outstanding Theater Student Award
  • Caroline Cozart, Outstanding English Student Award
  • Stephanie Munoz, Associate Degree in Nursing Award for Professional Excellence
  • Taylor Petrey, Bachelor of Science in Nursing Award for Professional Excellence Award
  • Amber Gunnell, RN-BSN Professional Excellence Award
  • Doaa Hamdan, Master’s in science in Nursing Excellence Award
  • Amy Hoard, Healthcare Administration Award for Professional Excellence
  • Trystan Amick, Accounting Award
  • Shannon Brunette, Business Program Award
  • Alexis Arriaga-Smith, Marketing Award
  • Noah Ray, Sport Management Award
  • Elizabeth (Liz) Galletta, Equine Management Student Award
  • Madeline Sparks, Outstanding Equine Rehabilitation Student Award
  • Emily Chandler, Outstanding Equine Science Student
  • Sadie Godbey, Student Community Service Award
  • Jalyn Jackson, Ruth Slack Roach Junior Scholar
  • Morgan Harper, Freshman Leadership Award
  • Noah Ray, Midway University Eagle Leadership Award
  • Erin McQueen, Student Alumni Award
  • Women’s Soccer, Athletic Team Impact Award
  • LGBT+ Organization, Student Organization Impact Award

The following students were inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society. To be invited to join ALD, full-time students must earn a 3.5 GPA or higher in their first semester of college.

  • Haley Case
  • Owen Clements
  • Isabel Flores
  • Sidney Hudnall
  • Arabella Kell
  • Kylie Kohrs
  • Jasmin McClenahan
  • Halley Moak
  • Ceaver Perry
  • Jackson Ryan
  • Elisma Stoltz
  • Caylee Thompson
  • Sydney Wright

Beta Beta Beta, or Tri-Beta, Biological Honor Society, is a society for students, particularly for undergraduates. It seeks to encourage scholarly attainment in this field of learning by reserving its membership for those who achieve superior academic records and who indicate special aptitude for and major interest in the life sciences. Students inducted into Tri-Beta include:

  • Winter Bruggeworth
  • Emily Cammack
  • Alexis Campbell
  • Emily Chandler
  • Kayla Daugherty
  • Erin Gambill
  • Ayah Shakir
  • Hannah Welte
  • Winta Woldegeorgis

Finally, Gamma Beta Phi is a national honor and service society. With a mission of service, scholarship, and character, we aim to broaden our members’ academic and philanthropic lives so that they may graduate ready to make a difference in the world. Students inducted into Gamma Beta Phi include:

  • Alexis Campbell
  • Kayla Daugherty
  • Cornelia (Corrie) Burke
  • Emily Colley
  • Bethany Crockett
  • Makayla Denton
  • Elizabeth (Libby) Morgan
  • Betty White
  • Kindall Talley
  • Robin Bailey

The event is named for the late Joy Edwards Hembree, a long-time Midway University Trustee who advocated for women and children.

The full Honors Night program can be viewed on the Midway University YouTube channel.