Skip to main content
  • Pinning Ceremony Held for Nursing Graduates & Presents Awards

December 20, 2021

Midway University nursing faculty gathered at the Duthie Auditorium Friday, December 17 to present official Midway University Nursing Pins to 27 candidates who successfully completed their coursework and earned their Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN). Two students completed their Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), and Kristen Hands, RN was honored for earning her Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) degree.

Amid the celebration, speakers also acknowledged the difficulty of joining the nursing profession during the Covid pandemic. "Many called us crazy for pursuing this degree in the midst of a global pandemic. I can't say I disagree," Lauren Horton, ADN graduate, joked.

Midway University president Dr. John P. Marsden thanked the students for "remaining committed to the nursing profession" amidst the challenges of studying during a pandemic.

Several speakers also memorialized Marlea Perry, a nursing student who passed away this summer. Tonya Stevens, ADN Program Coordinator, said, "She would have been walking across the stage with her fellow students." She described Perry's death as a loss to the entire community.

Graduates include:

Associate Degree Nursing

  • Kristianna Apodaca
  • Sunita Bohara
  • Racheal Lynn Caudill
  • Bhawana Chalise
  • Susana Ruvalcaba Chavez
  • Kelly Lum Cho
  • Nadya Clark
  • Alexa Evans
  • Lindsey Gilbert
  • Brianna Godbey
  • Amber Gunnell
  • Noel Hearn
  • Rebecca Hopkins
  • Lauren Horton
  • Ariel Jones
  • Danielle Keith
  • Shelly Land
  • Srijana Marasini
  • Raven Maynard
  • Ashley Nicole Parman
  • Taylor Peace
  • Michelle Lynn Phelps
  • Brooke Piester
  • Monze Silva
  • Cat Troublefield
  • Ally Elizabeth Wells
  • Courtney Workman

Bachelor of Science Degree Nursing

  • Peyton Humphries, RN
  • Daelee Moreland, RN

During the event, these students received awards:

  • Outstanding Freshman Award – Srijana Maiju
  • Florence Nightingale Award – Brooke Piester
  • Clinical Award – Raven Maynard
  • Baptist Health Leadership Award – Noel Hearn