Skip to main content
  • Midway University Honors Student Athletes

May 03, 2016

Midway University held its annual Athletics Awards Ceremony on April 24 and recognized 27 student athletes for their accomplishments in competition, the classroom and extracurricular activities.

“Midway is full of tremendous student athletes who are dedicated to bringing their best in competition and in the classroom,” said Rusty Kennedy, Athletic Director. “It’s always great for us to be able to reward their hard work at the end of the season.”

Award recipients were:

  • Stephanie Aufmann (Palatine, Ill.) – Most Improved Rider, Hunt Seat
  • Kacey Snook (Hampton, N.J.) – Most Valuable Rider, Hunt Seat
  • Chelsea Barker (Kingman, Ariz.) – Most Improved Rider, Western
  • Beverly Gartland (Essex, Vt.) – Most Consistent Rider, Western
  • Sadie Boschert (Camp Springs, Ky.) – Most Valuable Member, Western
  • Katie Ann Weitlauf (Lexington, Ky.) – Most Valuable Archer, Bow Hunter, Archery
  • Sarah Shipley (Cadiz, Ky.) – Most Improved Archer, Compound, Archery
  • Megan Kinsela (Charlotte, N.C.) – Most Valuable Archer, Recurve, Archery
  • Savannah Carr (Nicholasville, Ky.) – Most Improved Player, Basketball
  • Jordan Renner (Richmond, Ky.) – Coach’s Award, Basketball
  • Courtney Pfister (Mt. Washington, Ky.) – Team Player Award, Basketball
  • Kelsey Whitehouse (Bowling Green, Ky.) – Leadership Award, Golf
  • Rylee Beard (Campbellsville, Ky.) – Freshman of the Year, Golf
  • Kathryn Lawler (Georgetown, Ky.) – Golden Tee Award, Golf
  • Peyton Angel (Ludlow, Ky.) – Golden Boot Award for Most Goals Scored, Soccer
  • Sara Fields (Versailles, Ky.) – Silver Boot Award for Most Assists, Soccer
  • Lauren Schuster (Boston, Ky.) – Best Defender, Soccer
  • Brittany Vandeventer (London, Ky.) – Team Hustle Award, Softball
  • Hailey Roby (Whitesville, Ky.) – Team Spirit Award, Softball
  • Dee Lewis (Shelbyville, Ky.) – Most Valuable Player, Softball
  • Hannah Payne (Louisville, Ky.) – Team Hustle Award, Volleyball
  • Holly Whitworth (Sellersburg, Ind.) – Team Spirit Award, Volleyball
  • ShaKyra Young (Lebanon, Ky.) – Most Valuable Player, Volleyball

In addition to awards for athletic performance, Midway University presented two Spirit and Sportsmanship Awards to students who exemplify sportsmanship standards and show their support for their teammates and fellow athletes. To be considered for the award, student-athletes must be of at least junior standing and maintain a 3.2 or above cumulative GPA. This year’s recipients were:

  • Megan Kinsela (Charlotte, N.C.)
  • Kelsey Carmack (Mt. Olivet, Ky.).

At the end of the ceremony, Dr. John P. Marsden, President, Midway University, presented the Margaret Ware Parrish Award to two student athletes. Winners of this award must be of junior or senior status, have a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA, excel in athletics, be heavily involved in many other student activities throughout campus, demonstrate leadership and be well-respected by others in the Midway University community. The recipients of the 2014-15 Margaret Ware Parrish Award were:

  • Alexus Paige (Frankfort, Ky.)
    Eden Wimpsett (Bardstown, Ky.)