Skip to main content
  • Coffey Wins Midway University/KHSAA Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award

March 17, 2017

(Midway, Ky.) – During Girls’ Sweet 16 basketball tournament, Midway University and the KHSAA presented the Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award for basketball to Russell County High School’s Kailey Coffey. The award is a punctuation mark on a career that saw her break school records for total scoring and total rebounding.

During her time at Russell County, Coffey excelled on the court, earning all-region and all-district honors four years in a row and garnering an honorable mention as an all-state player.

Off the court, Coffey is a strong student who has won awards for her prowess in Spanish, science, English and math. She is also an active community volunteer, regularly participating in church activities, serving at a local soup kitchen and helping young basketball players develop their skills.

“I’m proud to present the Midway University/KHSAA Female Student Athlete of the Year Award to Kailey Coffey. As an outstanding basketball player, student and community servant, she is incredibly deserving, ” said Midway University Athletic Director Rusty Kennedy.

About the Midway University/KHSAA Female Student Athlete of the Year Awards

Nomination Process:

School administrators and/or coaches can nominate any qualified female high school student-athlete. Players can be nominated and win in more than one sport and are eligible to be nominated and win in multiple years of competition.

Judging Criteria

A panel of judges selected by Midway University and the KHSAA will review all nominations and make the selection of each individual sport Female Student-Athlete of the Year. The nominations will be judged on 60 percent weighting of overall athletic achievement, 20 percent academic achievement and 20 percent community service/leadership. In the event of a tie, the judges will have the discretion to select the final winner. Individual winners in each sport will be eligible for the overall Athlete of the Year Award, which will presented in May 2017.

Nominees must have an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher to qualify and be academically eligible to play in the season in which they are/were nominated.