Skip to main content
  • Midway University Recognizes Outstanding Students, Faculty during Virtual Honors Ceremony

April 20, 2021

The annual Joy Edwards Hembree Honors Program at Midway University was presented via video this year to recognize students, faculty members and campus organizations for their achievements in the classroom and extra-curricular activities.

“The annual Honors event is an important reminder of our purpose and a celebration of our Midway students’ academic and service achievements,” said Dr. Carrie Christensen, Interim Assistant Vice President, Academic Affairs, Midway University. “Although we couldn’t gather on campus to celebrate this together, we didn’t want to miss the opportunity to acknowledge our student’s achievements.”

Award recipients:

  • Roxanne Bow, Outstanding Teacher Award
  • Isabelle Milburn (Versailles, KY), Associate Degree Nursing Award for Professional Excellence
  • Sullivan Simpson (Lexington, KY), BSN Professional Excellence Award
  • Diego White (Corinth, KY), Outstanding Criminal Justice Award
  • Kelsey Moffett (Mount Vernon, IN), Outstanding Biology Student Award
  • Matthew Collins (London, KY), Outstanding Biology Research Student Award
  • Hannah Chan (Heyburn, ID), Outstanding English Student Award
  • Erin Byassee (Paducah, KY), Outstanding Psychology Student Award
  • Rachel Durham (Jackson, KY), Outstanding Teacher Education Student Award
  • Alex Vorhaus (Midway, KY), Theatre Award
  • Hannah Munford (W. Burlington, IA), Outstanding Masters in Teacher Leadership Award
  • Suzanna Dowler (Lawrenceburg, KY), Outstanding Accounting Student Award
  • Darren “DJ” Lujan (Phoenix, AZ), Outstanding Business Student Award
  • Brian Beck (Harrisburg, NC), Outstanding MBA Student Award
  • Cameron Kincer (Neon, KY), Outstanding Marketing Student Award
  • Matthew Collins (London, KY), Outstanding Math Student Award
  • Hannah Waroway (Ann Arbor, MI), Outstanding Student in Equine Rehabilitation
  • Kaycee Paksi (Saint Louis, MI), Outstanding Equine Management Student Award
  • Men’s Soccer Team, Athletic Team Impact Award
  • Eagle Outreach, Student Organization Impact Award
  • Suzanna Dowler (Lawrenceburg, KY), Excellence in Community Service Award
  • William Sidebottom (Bardstown, KY), Midway University Freshman Leadership Award
  • Kiara McGill (Shelbyville, KY), Midway University Eagle Leadership Award
  • Elizabeth Rusnak (Warren, OH), Ruth Slack Roach Scholar
  • Hannah Welte (Augusta, OH), Student Alumni Award
  • Patrick Meyer-Kayser (Lima, PERU), Outstanding Sport Management Award

The event is named for the late Joy Edwards Hembree, a long-time Midway University Trustee who advocated for women and children.

The full Honors Night program can be viewed on the Midway University YouTube channel.