Skip to main content
  • Ferguson tabbed Midway University/KHSAA Female Student-Athlete of the Year for 2018-19

June 21, 2019

The third annual Midway University/KHSAA Female Student-Athlete of the Year program concluded when the award winners from the past year were invited to campus for a ceremony to announce the overall winner for 2018-19. It was announced at the ceremony that Maci Ferguson (tennis) of Russell High School was named the overall winner for 2018-19.

A 2018 graduate of Russell High School, Ferguson left a lasting impact in her time as a standout for the Red Devils. A two-time Doubles State Champion and a four-time All-State Tennis Team Selection, Ferguson helped lead the Red Devils to five consecutive Region Championships. She also is a three-time Region 16 Player of the Year who also won the 2017 Wendy’s Heisman Award.

Ferguson not only excelled on the court, but also in the classroom. While putting in many hours with lessons and travel on the weekends, she holds a perfect GPA while taking many ‘Advanced Placement’, Honors, and Dual Credit courses. She also was the Student Body Vice President and was involved in numerous clubs and activities within Russell High School.

When she is not working on excelling her craft in the classroom or on the court, Ferguson is putting others above herself with her work in the community. She could likely be found at Bridges Church in Russell, while also volunteering at the Ashland Tennis Center and the East Greenup County Kiwanis Club.

The Midway University/KHSAA Female Student-Athlete of the Year award is based upon overall athletic performance (60%), academic achievement (20%) and community service (20%). Students must possess an overall grade point average of 3.0 or better to qualify, and must be academically eligible during the season in which they are nominated. School administrators, coaches and athletic directors nominate student-athletes online at, and the nominees are voted upon by a closed panel consisting of representatives from Midway University.

2018-19 Award Winners (May 2018 through April 2019)

  • 2018 Bass Fishing – Morgan Miracle (Garrard County)
  • 2019 Bass Fishing – Hannah Wesley (Boyle County)
  • 2018 Tennis – Maci Ferguson (Russell)*
  • 2019 Tennis – Natalie Chou (Sacred Heart)
  • 2018 Track & Field (1A) – Alli Cundiff (University Heights)
  • 2018 Track & Field (2A) – Marly Walls (Nelson County)
  • 2018 Track & Field (3A) – Rachel Boice (Oldham County)
  • 2019 Track & Field – Promise Cross (Rowan County)
  • 2018 Softball – Olivia Palask (Calvary Christian)
  • 2019 Softball – Brooke Meier (Villa Madonna)
  • 2018 Golf – Ava Dillow (J. Graham Brown)
  • 2018 Field Hockey – Megan Read (Kentucky Country Day)
  • 2018 Cross County – Sarah Been (Elizabethtown)
  • 2018 Soccer – Ashley Durik (Sacred Heart)
  • 2018 Volleyball – McKenna Vicini (Lexington Catholic)
  • 2018 Competitive Cheer – Hannah Daniels (Knox Central)
  • 2018 Dance – Allie Potts (Madisonville North Hopkins)
  • 2019 Bowling – Taylor Petrey (Corbin)
  • 2019 Swimming & Diving – Olivia Greinke (Henry Clay)
  • 2019 Basketball – Savannah Jordan (Conner)
  • 2019 Archery – Julia Shepherd (Lynn Camp)

*overall winner for 2018-19

Maci Ferguson becomes the second winner from Russell High School joining Sara Hieneman (softball) who won the award for 2017-18. Sacred Heart’s Brooke Forde (swimming & diving) was the program’s inaugural winner for 2016-17.

Editor’s Note: Winner photos are available for download from Dropbox. Natalie Chou and Morgan Miracle are not pictured as they were unable to attend the event.