Skip to main content
  • Hieneman Named Midway University/KHSAA Female Student-Athlete of the Year for 2017-18

May 18, 2018

(Midway, Ky.) – The second annual Midway University/KHSAA Female Student-Athlete of the Year program culminated when award winners from the previous academic year were invited to campus for a ceremony to announce the overall winner for 2017-18. Russell High School’s, Sara Hieneman (softball) was named the overall winner for 2017-18.

Hieneman graduated from Russell High School in 2017 after leaving a lasting mark in her time with the Red Devils. She made the varsity team as a seventh grader and became a starter as an eighth grader. She played all nine positions at some point in her career at Russell High School. She was also named the 2017 Softball Max Preps Team Player of the Year.

Hieneman is not only a great athlete on the field, but she is an even better student in the classroom. She was Co-Valedictorian in her class as she graduated with a perfect 4.0 student. She is also challenging herself by taking several ‘Advanced Placement’ courses.

When she isn’t busy on the field or in the classroom, she is likely volunteering her time within the community. Hieneman often volunteers at the Physical Therapy Department at Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital and helps out at First Baptist Church in Russell.

The Midway University/KHSAA Female Student-Athlete of the Year award is based upon overall athletic performance (60%), academic achievement (20%) and community service (20%). Students must possess an overall grade point average of 3.0 or better to qualify, and must be academically eligible during the season in which they are nominated. School administrators, coaches and athletic directors nominate student-athletes online at, and the nominees are voted upon by a closed panel consisting of representatives from Midway University.

2017-18 Award Winners (May, 2017 through April, 2018)
2017 Bass Fishing – Morgan Miracle (Garrard County)
2017 Tennis – Abby Birk (Sacred Heart)
2017 Track & Field (1A) – Sarah McDowell (Murray)
2017 Track & Field (2A) – Michaela Reinhart (Lexington Catholic)
2017 Track & Field (3A) – Emma Kuntz (DuPont Manual)
2017 Softball – Sara Hieneman (Russell) *
2017 Golf – Bailey Hubbard (Clay County)
2017 Field Hockey – Samantha Minrath (Christian Academy-Lou.)
2017 Cross Country (1A) – Kinsey Forgey (Leslie County)
2017 Cross Country (3A) – Abby Hill (Madison Central)
2017 Soccer – Hunter Clark (Simon Kenton)
2017 Volleyball – Sydney Parmelee (Pulaski County)
2017 Competitive Cheer – Alexis Stanley (Pikeville)
2017 Dance – Avery Knochel (Breckinridge County)
2018 Bowling – Morgan Stone (Daviess County)
2018 Swimming & Diving – Tonner DeBeer (Sacred Heart)
2018 Basketball – Sophia Akin (LaRue County)
2018 Archery – Kaylen Smith (Trigg County)

*overall winner for 2017-18

Sacred Heart’s Brooke Forde (swimming and diving) was named the overall award winner in the program’s inaugural year in 2017.