Skip to main content
  • Midway University Recognizes Outstanding Students, Faculty During Virtual Honors Ceremony

May 13, 2020

The annual Joy Edwards Hembree Honors Program at Midway University was done through a video presentation this year to recognize several students, faculty members and campus organizations for their outstanding achievements in the classroom and extra-curricular activities.

“The annual Honors event is an important reminder of our purpose and a celebration of our students’ academic and social achievements,” said Dr. Mary Elizabeth Stivers, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Midway University. “Although we couldn’t gather on campus to celebrate this together, we didn’t want to miss the opportunity to acknowledge our student’s achievements.”

Award recipients:

    • Dr. Becky Briley, Outstanding Teacher Award
    • Juan Perez (Versailles, Kentucky) Associate Degree Nursing Award for Professional Excellence
    • Jamie May Mullins (Richmond, Kentucky), BSN Professional Excellence Award
    • April Steward (Paris, Kentucky), Health Care Administration Award
    • Larissa Cussins (Cheyenne, Wyoming), Outstanding Biology Student Award
    • Kendall Godwin (Ooltewah, Tennessee), Outstanding Biology Research Student Award
    • Laura Minton (Wilmore, KY), Outstanding English Student Award
    • Joseph Enzweiler (Erlanger, Kentucky), Outstanding Psychology Student Award
    • Joy Johnson (London, Kentucky), Outstanding Teacher Education Student Award
    • Laura Minton (Wilmore, KY), Theatre Award
    • Christen Roberson (Inez, Kentucky), Outstanding Masters in Teacher Leadership Award
    • Cynthia Sexton (Stamping Ground, Kentucky), Outstanding Business Student Award
    • Kendra Legters (Bloomfield, New York), Outstanding Student in Equine Management
    • Lesley DuPlessis (Pretoria, South Africa), Outstanding Student in Equine Rehabilitation
    • Rashea Smith (Corbin, Kentucky), Outstanding Student in Equine Science
    • Maxime Noel (Les Contamines-Montjoie, France), Outstanding Sport Management Student Award
    • Women’s Volleyball Team, Athletic Team Impact Award
    • Psychology Club, Student Organization Impact Award
    • Elizabeth Danielle “Libby” Morgan (Georgetown, Kentucky), Excellence in Community Service Award
    • Luke Logan (Elizabethtown, Kentucky), Midway University Freshman Leadership Award
    • Hannah Waroway (Ann Arbor, Michigan), Midway University Eagle Leadership Award
    • Hannah Welte (Augusta, Kentucky), Ruth Slack Roach Junior Scholar
    • Brynn Bradley (Nicholasville, Kentucky), Student Alumni Award

The event is named for the late Joy Edwards Hembree, a long-time Midway University Trustee who advocated for women and children. A video of the event can be found on the Midway University YouTube channel.