Midway College Honors Night Recognizes Student Achievements

May 14 - Nov 14

For Immediate Release
May 14, 2013

Midway College

Midway College Honors Night Recognizes Student Achievements

Midway, KY- Midway College is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Honors Night awards. The Joy Edwards Hembree Honors Night Ceremony was held April 25 in the Duthie Auditorium on Midway’s campus.

During the ceremony several Midway College students were recognized for their academic achievements including:

Academic Awards

ADN Professional Excellence Award – Lisa Mick (Lexington, Kentucky)
Associate Degree Nursing Leadership Portfolio Award – Michael Tain (Lancaster, Kentucky)
Biology Award – Mikaela Thomason (Foster, Kentucky)
BSN Professional Excellence Award – Jennifer Taraba (Lexington, Kentucky)
Business Administration Award –Women’s College – Christine Anne Thomas (Miamisburg, Ohio)
Business Administration Award – School for Career Development – Wade DeRossett (Carlisle, Kentucky)
Business Administration Accounting Award – Melinda Cremeans (Frankfort, Kentucky)
Creative Writing Award – Allison Strickling (Midway, Kentucky)
Distinguished Scholarly Writing Award – Misty McMillen (Frankfort, Kentucky)
Distinguished Scholarly Senior Project – Heekyung Yang (Lexington, Kentucky)
English Award – Allison Strickling (Midway, Kentucky)
Environmental Science Award – Olivia Harmsen (Zeeland, Michigan)
Equine Studies Bachelor of Science Award – Jennifer Zimmerman (Crystal Lake, Illinois)
Equine Studies Bachelor of Arts Award – Megan Barnish (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Equine Studies Associate of Arts Award – Kelsey Stoltenberg (Clovis, California)
Equine Studies Leadership Portfolio Award – Ashley Marcum (Winchester, Kentucky)
Healthcare Administration Award – Barbara Swickard (Lexington, Kentucky)
MBA Award – Nathan Vanderford (Lexington, Kentucky)
Psychology Award - Michelle West (Georgetown, Kentucky)
Sport Management Award – Alexander Jay McWhorter (Lexington, Kentucky)
Teacher Education Award – Women’s College – Allison Lynette Crump (Lexington, Kentucky)
Teacher Education Award – School for Career Development – Natasha Glass Bard
Teacher Education Leadership Portfolio Award – Tiffany Turner (Cynthiana, Kentucky)

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

The following students were recognized during the ceremony by Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. This is one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs in the nation. Students are nominated by the college faculty, administrators and staff and are selected for their individual and diverse service to the community and school.

• Megan Barnish (Melrose Park, Illinois)
• Angalina Canary (Hartford, Kentucky)
• Allison Crump (Lexington, Kentucky)
• Catherine Haas (Eaton, Ohio)
• LaTasha Jackson (Elmore, Alabama)
• Makenzie Jolly (Lexington, Kentucky)
• Ashley Marcum (Winchester, Kentucky)
• Shanna Oakley (Carrollton, Kentucky)
• Sandra Pugh (Lexington, Kentucky)
• Raychel Reams (Lexington, Kentucky)
• Tracy Spotts (Midway, Kentucky)
• Susan Strange (Lexington, Kentucky)
• Allison Strickling (Midway, Kentucky)
• Catherine Thomas
• Dana Wagner (Lexington, Kentucky)

Other Awards

• Outstanding Resident Assistant – Catherine Haas (Eaton, Ohio)
• Midway College Alumni Award (presented to a college junior) – Brittany Belbeck


Media Contact:
Ellen Gregory, Vice President of Marketing & Communications
(859) 846-6046 (office)